Train Wreck!!

I’m sorry I haven’t had time to post anything for a while. Big stuff happening and not much time for the fun stuff.  Here’s a copy of an email I sent out to let some folks know what was going on.  It’ll have to hold everyone for now…

_____________________

As some of you know, I went into the hospital on Oct 8th with severe pneumonia. At the time, it was so severe they didn’t think that there was any way I would survive to see Sunday, much less several weeks! (We have such a great God!!)

Whilst in the hospital, they found that my doctor(s) had missed a few minor health problem I had apparently developed over the past ?year? or two; namely Congestive Heart Failure, Full blown Type 2 Diabetes, Polycythemia, A Severely enlarged heart, and various other less important issues. These were all related, to a greater or lesser degree, to the fact that my daily diuretic had failed. Over time, water had built up and water-logged my tissues preventing my meds from working, and making it nearly impossible for my heart to push O2 through my system. Of course smoking like a chimney for 20 years didn’t help.

So I’m sick. Very. (Though I feel better than I have in months.) If I make it the next month or so, we can look at trying to fix some of the major issues. Until I finish getting all of the water out/off my system, there is no real point in starting anything else.  One of the doctors gave me slightly better than 50/50 odds of making it to November 15th due to stored chemicals in my tissues, the size and weakness of the walls in my heart, and underlying other issues.  That was kind of a shock and hard to hear.

As you can probably tell, Shawna and I are and will be facing some scary issues over the next few months.  I’m sorry if we have been out of touch, or haven’t spoken to some of you in private, but it is all we can do to face each day without crying.

Shawna has been GREAT. But trying to go on like everything is ‘honkey-dory’ is tiring and difficult on the best of days. (And there have been few ‘best’ days of late.) It doesn’t help that we are facing some of the leanest times financially that we have had over the past 10 or so years. Every penny is taken before it arrives, That on top of the medical exams and tests on my poart, and the college classes and learning on Shawna’s, has us pretty well exhausted well before it is time to go to bed every day…

Also, thank you all for your individual and group offers of sympathy and help. Right now, other than money for bills (which no one has in this economy) mostly what we need are your prayers. And kind thoughts. Please continue to keep us in your prayers this fall as we battle whatever comes up. Like the Apostle Paul, to lose (my life) is gain, ’cause I know where I am going and what awaits me when I get there. (I WIN!!)

______________________________________________

I’ll put up more when I find the time and energy….

-Dave-

~ by daveprime on November 8, 2011.

One Response to “Train Wreck!!”

  1. It’s good to know what had happened to you. Still, it’s obviously not a very pleasant time for you and Shawna at the moment. My thoughts are definitely with you guys, and I’ll keep on hoping that you’ll hang around here for a bit longer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
