New Year’s Prayer 2011

New Year’s Day

A tiny spark….
A flicker of flame against the howling dark of night.
A fingerful of warmth opposed to an arctic storm.
That lingering last kiss before a journey of eternity.

It dances there in the gloom,
Suspended three feet off the floor.
Like diamonds in sunlight,
It sends razor-sharp glints off into the shadows.

I use it as my lighthouse,
My center in the midst of the raging storm.
Unable to change the winds or waves of chance,
I use its beauty to keep my place in this hell.

A day, week, year, decade, lifetime ago
I had no need of such a talisman.
Secure in my own strength and power,
I ruthlessly pursued my own will and way.

Now I am relegated to just staying afloat.
Every day a battle against forces beyond my control.
Every night a nightmare of what has been or
What could have been…

Maybe this year will change, I say….
Perhaps we will find a miracle, or one will appear.
Blind chance in my/our favor.
A solid win against the last decade of loss.

Happy New Year…… I hope….

~ by daveprime on January 1, 2011.

2 Responses to “New Year’s Prayer 2011”

  1. I think my spark went out a long time ago…

  2. *hugs*
    I hope this year is a much better one for you Dave.

Leave a Reply

 
