So…. My House is Haunted.

Okay, time to talk about something a little more light-hearted.  I think.

My house is haunted.  Not “It’s a little bit spooky after dark” haunted, but “I have things moving around on a regular basis just out of sight and I can hear them but can’t see them” haunted.

We moved in here about two years ago.  When we were here painting and cleaning before actually moving our stuff in, I kept having the hair on the back of my arms and neck stand up for no reason.  I figured it was nothing and so I just laughed it off.  And lived with it.

About a month after moving in, I was looking past the dark kitchen and saw someone standing in the hallway leading to the back door.  Since I have 3 tall, thin boys and we store our spare food on shelves in that room, I figured it must be one of them standing there in the dark for no reason. Yeah, I’m weird that way.  So I struck a conversation with them and continued working in the next room.  Not getting a response to some question or another I flipped on the kitchen light to see who was ignoring me.  There was NO ONE there!

Over time, I have been able to catch this ‘phantom’ out of the side of my vision for minutes at a time. (Yes, I spend WAY too much time alone in the dark.)  ?He? is a thin, tall, old man wearing coveralls and a faded, checkered flannel shirt.  He doesn’t move or speak.  He just stands there being all old and freaky.

Yeah, I leave my kitchen light on a LOT now.

But that’s not why my house is haunted.  That I could live with.  Sort of.

What freaks me out and makes me cringe happens when I am laying in bed.  Alone.  Trying to sleep.

Our house was built in the late 1940’s and then added on to some time later by one of the owners.  One can tell that most of the work was NOT done by professional craftsmen.  That part is okay.  Weird and all angley, but okay.  There are two “attic rooms”, one on each side of the second floor, that are ½ to ¾ height with sloping walls.  The one above our bedroom currently holds miscellaneous possessions in boxes that we have no room for at the present time. These boxes are (pretty) neatly stacked and there isn’t anything laying around loose on the floor.  In fact, there isn’t more than a foot or so of room ON said floor to navigate around the boxes when searching for something we thought we didn’t need, only to find that we do indeed need it. Right now.

So far so normal. Right?

This is where it gets …… creepy and irritating.

When laying in bed, having my mind wander through all of the delightful things that it does just before going to sleep, I can clearly hear a box or bowling ball slide/roll several feet across the floor above me.  I’ll wait a few seconds, and then it rolls/slides back.  It does this, in no particular rhythm, again, and again, and again.

I’ve gone upstairs looking for the box/bowling ball, but there is nothing out of place.  WE DON’T EVEN OWN A BOWLING BALL!

I thought, “Must be the wind.”  Nope.
“Maybe Birds/squirrels?”  Nope.
“Kids getting into stuff?”  Nope.

After a few times of this, all I could do is lay in bed and listen to this stupid thing do its tricks until I was finally able to drift off to sleep.

Now the door (a piece of plywood on hinges with a slide lock) stays firmly LOCKED.  Not that this really matters.  If I could, I would fill the room with concrete/foam and weld thick metal plates over the door and window of the room!

Seriously!

But, since I can’t do that, and would probably die under the resulting 10 ton block of solid concrete which would drop through the floor and crush me in my bed while I slept, I just have to deal with it.  Somehow.

So now I go to bed with earbuds stuffed into my ears and music at a level that prevents me from hearing ANYTHING outside my skull.

Roll to your hearts’ delight, you little suckers!  I no longer care!

Now if I can just figure out something to do about that old guy standing in the doorway behind me…..

~ by daveprime on October 16, 2010.

4 Responses to “So…. My House is Haunted.”

  1. I’ve always figured it’s more of a wooden ball or large marble rolling across the floor. And since *one* of us should be able to hear what’s going on outside our room, *I* don’t get to sleep with earphones on. 😦 Ah, well–I’m learning to ignore the weird noises.

  2. Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

  3. This is why I can’t sleep at your house unless you’re up at the computer. That way ghost-guy would have to go through you to get to me. 😀

  4. My sister’s house is apparently haunted too. They keep seeing a little girl there, the dog goes absolutely crazy and the air goes cold. My sister felt a band of cold around her waist one day and freaked out to which my niece replied ‘Don’t worry Mum, she’s just giving you a hug. I think she’s lonely’.
    Nonetheless Jo freaked out lol

Leave a Reply

 
