It’s been a while…

Hi guys.

I’ve been MIA for a while, as I am sure a few of you have noticed.  (Or not.)  I could give you excuses, but I’m not going to.  I don’t really have any.  I haven’t accomplished much of anything, and yet my days have been filled to the brim with worthless searches and new-found troves of useless trivia.  (Yes, we finally got internet back!) Not even good trivia, either.  Totally useless bits of knowledge that one couldn’t even use to win a trivia type game.  Knowledge like: “Peregrines are large, graceful birds that can reach speeds up to 250 km/hr, making them the fastest creatures on earth.” – http://hypertextbook.com/facts/1999/ChrisSantoro.shtml

*sigh*

Yeah, like that is going to make me a better person.  Somehow that is going to unlock the reason my car won’t run, or why the lady from Voc. Rehab. won’t even acknowledge my emails.  R-i-g-h-t…   Heck, I can’t even imagine a circumstance where that bit of know-how will be even relevant, much less needed.  And yet I spend all day on my laptop following up on this sort of thing.  And Youtube.  And other people’s blogs.  And the news.  From Florida.  Where I have never even been.  And emptying my ashtray.  Full of cigarettes I can’t afford to buy and yet somehow still seem to every day.

Some months my life sucks.

I went without my vitamin D for almost 3 weeks.  It got so bad at the end that I spent almost two entire days in bed.  I didn’t cook anything for over a week.  Shower?  Hahahahahahahahahahahaha.

I’m lucky my wife didn’t throw me to the curb wrapped in an old Hefty bag and a few paper towels!  Like the guinea pig cage cleanings.

And then one morning I started battling back.  I knew better than to even make myself promises at that point.  I just decided that I was at least going to get out of bed every morning.  As soon as I stood up (well, a few seconds before that, actually) the reason to take a shower hit me.  Forcefully.  One should not gag at ones own smell.  ‘Nuff said.  And so I spent a glorious HOUR in the rain locker.  The only reason  it wasn’t TWO hours is that I started running out of hot(ish) water.  And I wanted hot coffee. If we had a better water heater and coffee in a shower-proof container, I would have stayed in there all day!

After clean clothes and a fresh pot or two of premium coffee, (Shawna bought me Zimzilla from City Brew for my birthday) the world seemed a few shades of gray lighter.

That was two weeks ago, and every day has been a little bit better.  Not great loads of Happy Happy Joyness, but not so sucky I just couldn’t face it any more, either.  I even got a call from a dear friend that lives two hours away. And she came to a dinner that (with help) I cooked!  It was even done on time!! (It took me four days to recover, but that is another story for another day.)

So the battle goes on….

God-Awful Poetry next time. I promise.

~ by daveprime on October 14, 2010.

One Response to “It’s been a while…”

  1. See, this is why I stay married to you! You make me laugh. A lot. 🙂 (And Heather gave you the coffee–I went and found some of your favorite books!)

Leave a Reply

 
