A word from my Cell…

Old.

Some days I just feel old.
Like someone has stolen the spark
That is supposed to be firing my heart.
Leaving me cold, tired, and feeling alone.

I went out today into the sun.
The breeze had that heady scent of spring;
A hot, dry, grassy smell that lingers.
Like the smell of summer fields just before a rain.

The sun was bright and warm.
It bit into my skin with a fervor,
As if seeking a way into my cold and barren heart.
But all I could think of was trying to find some shade.

I spent an hour and a half,
In that alien world others live in.
All I could think of was how much I wanted to be
In my cool, dark cell of a room.

I think it has finally happened.
I am finally in truth a prisoner to my disease.
My injury, my enemy, my weakness.
I am as much in prison outside as I am inside.

And so I sit here in my cell,
Tapping away during ‘visiting hours’.
Looking forward to this evening’s chow call.
The warden promises something good.

And afterwards,  when all is said and done,
I will spend another night sitting here.
reading about a world that I am no longer any part of.
Watch pictures of a place where I
May never be at home in again…

~ by daveprime on April 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “A word from my Cell…”

  1. Dude, you and I need to go out and just SIT next to a pond and watch life happen around us without being control of it or messing it up the way we humans do….

  2. Anytime, Oppie. 🙂

    I’ll be going camping soon, that should help. I hope.

Leave a Reply

 
