The Question…

“Do you have a plan?” he asks me calmly.
Studied. Rational. Reasonable.
He looks at me over his glasses and watches my reaction to the question.
Never seeing the warning lights coming on inside my skull.

Behind my plastic, smiling face I ponder…
How do I answer that question?
If I tell him of the hours of soul searching,
Dark minutes ticking by in my pain,
He’ll lock me up and throw away the key.

OF course I have a plan.
Long thought out and considered.
Step by step, motion by motion,
Like everything else I have ever done.

It started out a merely a stray thought.
That returned every day.
Day after day after day.
Relentless like the tides.

Several options presented themselves,
But in the end only one would do.
A melding of what I love and what I hate.
A spinning dance I could just let go of.

“Do you have a plan?” he asks me calmly.
“No.” I reply softly.
“Good. If you did I would have to take steps.”
*smile*
“I know.”

~ by daveprime on January 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Question…”

  1. Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

  2. I’ve long ago stopped trying to read the future very far out. If I had to guess though, I would fear losing grip of my iron will (hah)and spiraling quickly out of control. If I had to make a guess that is….

Leave a Reply

 
