Waiting in the wings…

Well, here it is the first few days of a new year, and I find myself stuck in the waiting role. Again.  One would think I would be used to it by now, after the past six years of enforced idleness, but that would be a wrong belief.  I HATE waiting.  With a passion that is almost holy.  I want to get things STARTED!!! Urk.

I’m a little angry with the medical profession right now.  Last week i was slated for a set of diagnostic nerve block procedures, and as a result my new doctor was reviewing my medical records to make sure he hadn’t “missed” anything.  He found that the last set of MRI images and reports were missing from my file.  I volunteered to go to the clinic where I had it done and have them send him a new set.  When I got there, I made sure to get another set of the reports for myself whilst I was there.

It turns out the doctors should have known what was wrong with my back TWO YEARS AGO!!!!!  The images show a protruding disk pressing against the tegament of a radial nerve that runs down  into my left leg.  The report said that this was the reason for the constant rending pain I am in.  When the doc saw this, he cancelled the diagnostics and set up an appointment for a nerve block to that specific location to see if surgery might be an option. (If he can give me significant relief with a nerve block, then surgery would most likely be effective…)

Here’s the kicker:  The reason my new doctor’s never got the report/images and were told nothing about the underlying cause of my pain is that my old doctor worked for a competing hospital/clinic!!

I could just scream!! URK!!!!

*sigh*  I go in Monday for the nerve block.  If it gives me some serious relief, I could be looking at living a more normal life in a matter of a few WEEKS! *gulp*

Needless to say, I am just a wee bit nervous! :-/

Wish me luck.

~ by daveprime on January 2, 2009.

6 Responses to “Waiting in the wings…”

  1. My goodness. That’s the most stupidest reason I’ve heard for leaving someone in agony for so darned long.

    I hope all goes well on Monday, Dave!

  2. That’s bloody ridiculous!
    I really hope that the nerve block works. *carefulhugs*

  3. Wow what a buncha weinies. I have been wondering for a while why they couldn’t do something like that. You would think there wouldn’t be competition in the medical profession like that, you know the whole “cause no harm” thing. It isn’t like they are selling cars or something.

  4. Thanks guys! I have been postponed till Tuesday Afternoon, but here’s hoping for a minor miracle of medicine! *yikes*

    I will probably get absolutely NO sleep tonight! LOL

    *sigh*

  5. Good luck honey
    *hugs*

  6. That stinks! Two years is a long time to wait for a fix to a problem.

Leave a Reply

 
